top of page

April 6, 1991 - Foster Care & Prison: 25 Years Ago


I was 14 years old and loved Def Leppard and Guns & Roses. I was good at art, math, making jewelry and blow jobs. I drank beer, purple passion & wine coolers, smoked weed and had tried acid a couple of times. I had never had a real boyfriend, however I had been in sexual encounters with 20 teenage boys and men. I knew this because I kept a count in the back page of my diary. My motto was "Life's a bitch, then you die, so fuck the world and go get high!" It seemed like a cool thing to say.

Yet despite being raped and molested by 8 different people from age 4 to 14, I knew deep inside that there had to be something more beautiful to life than this. Somehow I knew that I would be the one to break the cycle of abuse and addiction in my family. Both my mother and father had experienced sexual and physical abuse growing up. I don't know the reasons why it was continued to my generation. I just knew the buck stopped here!

As I reflect on the 25th anniversary of that life changing day, I am thankful I am alive and have an opportunity to share my story and share with other survivors. The story is very complicated and unreal at times. At moments I wish that I was "normal" and didn't suffer from post traumatic stress, depression, feelings of abandonment, and feelings of regret. Those moments are part of the package, and I am lucky to have received a chance to succeed and graduate from high school and navigate my way through adulthood as I reinvent my own womanhood and self.

April 6, 1991 was the day I entered foster care and the day my father was arrested for rape & incest. My mother was living homeless at the time with an abusive boyfriend. No family came to rescue me. I often wondered if telling the truth about the years of abuse was worth it. As a child I felt responsible for everything. I felt guilty about my father going to prison. I felt guilty that our house went into foreclosure and that all my life's belongings were thrown out into the street for eviction. I just wanted to go home, see my dog, pet my cat and play with my friends. I did not understand the ramifications of what it meant to finally tell the truth to the police the night before. I just knew that my life had flashed before my eyes and that if I went home that night after a fight with my dad, that I may not survive. I kept a terrible secret for 10 years and I was ready to fight for my life.

I encourage you to tell the truth and contact police if you are in danger. You will save your life and many others from continued abuse and possible death.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page